Responding to Dada Poetry

A Poetry Feature for MetaDada

The following collection of student poetry emerged from the course, Introduction to Creative Writing: Poetry, taught by Professor Rhonda Pettit at University of Cincinnati Blue Ash College. The students were introduced to the origins of dadaism, and were provided with an inspirational prompt in the form of Hugo Ball’s sound poem, “Karawane” as recited by Marie Osmond on the mid-eighties TV program, Ripley’s Believe It or Not. The poetic responses are spontaneous and unedited. – Editor

 

Real or Not Real
By Alyssa Ferreri

I don’t how it started,
I’m not sure when it happened.

My consciousness is muddled.

My dreams feel like life,
My life feels like a dream.

Hazy and clouded.
My thoughts are broken and incontinuous.

My body is not my own,
I do not recognize my reflection.

My voice belongs to someone else,
It doesn’t sound like me.

I don’t remember when this started,
And I’m not sure how to go back.

Help.

 

The Story of the Tiger Master
By Bryant Pil

Tigris ri se na ca to bert
Ug se uma tu bai see nai ruu
Flisk chung chong chang bur suie
Tigris, ug flisk quan zine ze cha nob
Ug fig sig nich gon kull
Tigris se sag on kull uugh neh shu.

Tigris ni sen puri nours se cha nook
Flisk igris runt ti nag commn ca ser.
Temperla nei no umbra or ursa chame
Tigris gon kull umbra nove ursa
Ursa pleau ruf ser Tigris no nore kull.

Tigris par que ti ni chu se sa ming.
Tigris kone ser chai leon nor essarers
Leon rolay par tear Tigris

Essarers nest que sa seur que non blem
Tigris kone ure ser say aster et vati nu.
Leon sa cer aster pone tui kola ser ni ca
Bour ran essarers aster que new von tans que sont.

 

superstitious world hangs over me
By Emily Mannira

Black cat black cat
love me, feel me, be free
Black cat black cat
6 + 6 = 12 + 1 = 13
13 x 2 = 26
26
That number follows me
ever since the day I was born
6/26/1996
Black cat black cat
love me, feel me, be free

 

[untitled]
By Marie Hopkins

the stomach falls pitless
it couldn’t comprehend
what happens to goblins that don’t make sense
they fall off their trolls
and tickle their toes
and the words that you stumble creeps around
round the hose
shit bumble bee
I don’t know what you be
what you see
around the whole garden
flying after me
pits in my stomach
spits after you
everything I’ve said I mean to consume
brackish bees down my neck
hornets sting tone and flesh
and empties and parties and terrible turns
round the garden
with zits on my stumpen
ground on so fluven
crumpled and fallen, little bees jack the oven
honey in me, honey you see, honey it tastes so naturally
sugar is lumpy ee ee e he
confound all the variables
split open a tree
that falls in the woods
when no one’s around
she jumps in the leaves
she makes all the sound
terrible twos turn into fours into doors you walk through
spun in the stifle that huckers down my knees
crumbles and turns
I never liked stew
I always ate breakfast
for dinner it sooms it crues it dues it knows
what to assume and what to leave lingering
to burn in the simmer
and all the eyes knowing, at least I think they know me,
but all they assume is all that they see
my handwriting lingers and busies its neck
and folds into corners that fall over deck
we were leaning too far
too long in the winter
spring rain came burning to knock over retreat
run little falter, run next to me
I’ve always felt empty, but now I feel free
quick as a rabbit darts underground,
quick as the coffin I pick out of sound
it’s mine, it’s yours, this was all meant to be
and now I can’t understand what I’m trying to be

 

DaDa
By Andrew Wood

Elope antifreeze
Set out with the true ones
Those punks and hippies
Who take care of their own and you
If you let them
Bring sides to fancy not together
But of each other
Semblance of entrance or entrancement
I found play dough on the wall and dreamed along winding root of discretion
I’m not sure who was at the pizza window
I was rude but not rude for a minute
My clock need be 10 minutes too fast
So I feel late and worry
I must worry
I must worry to move to forwardly seeking, anxious, impending
And I said no to it
The thought must do it
I must make noise louder and louder and louder and louder and louder
I will wear leather
Then sweater
Then long flowing tie die
I will wear pleather
And a long dress
And comic book sideways
Sidelong and headed, pushing them further
I will get louder sun scream smelling like ball point pen ink

So sophist sadists
Those that must conquer
Must win forever
must undo others
So she who wheoo
Setoo the sell off of out take camp
My companion get static startled
Lazy with reverb and honest occasion
Rip up your ledger
Spill oil out out out

 

Purple Platypus
By Matt Zupancic

Purple, a king’s color, royalty, Crown Royal, Canada, maple, sweet,

sugar cane, tropical, paradise, no worries, lazy day, Sunday, Sunday Bloody Sunday, U2,

concerts, summer time, sunshine, camping, outdoors, forests, mountains, west, California

dreaming, The Mamas and the Papas, 1960’s, revolution, youth, innocence, dreams, reality,

perception, Doors of Perception, philosophy, Plato, Pluto, planets, solar system, sun, light,

dark, night, city life, no sleep, energy, coffee, morning, fresh start, new, amateur, experience,

mastered, teachings, knowledge, knowledge is power, ignorance is bliss, happiness, euphoria,

dopamine and serotonin, chemicals, chemistry, biology, life, animals, mammals, platypus.

 

My Brother and I
By Katie Brooker

We look at each other
Snagler wayshamled tofaba
Fortuga beyshlamanate iletudo
Mgmletufe cosada fe lefa
Hehe coos outward from our lips

Tosha sumartotos lexituda
Mgmletufe cosada fe lefa
Another giggle escapes

No one will know
Shasamasa waytora bala conaskay
Snagler wayshamled toga faba
Mubu falata dula
Whispered to one another

Amatada foralara fefocale
Nalo belata cocoam
Just the two of us in the world

Keeping each other safe under the covers
Latusa shalatuda fasleta ahsha
Cuslatu shafu malate krla
Krlashe latusa amatada
We hear the thud thud of footsteps

Ahhh! Sheaforta!
Nhama Nhama shh
Fear riddled whispers between us

Just the two of us against the world
Hack tou faltusha awlashatu
Amentutada shashata huhufaha
With our secret language

Hash sh ha shshha Matula
Sheaforta Matula Hahash shshhash
Mom and dad will never know

Leave a Reply

